Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Manraj Singh

In 2010 the Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill changed my perception of corporate responsibility for the environment.  When the Rena struck the Astrolabe Reef – New Zealand watched as 20,000 birds died.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I chose a real event that is happening here in New Zealand, as a mean to raise awareness in young adults.

My final project focuses on New Zealand and the environmental issues caused by the Rena Oil Spill. Research is the key to my design process as it drives my design perspective and motivates my desire to know more about the environmental issues.

My project is focused on graphic artist such as Simon Robinson, Banksy and Shepard Fairey. The artists communicated ethic/social/ environmental messages in a new and resonant way.  I also researched “Russian constructivism” that highlighted formal graphic attributes that are essential in creating a clear message.  I have also reflected on the efforts of Green Peace in NZ and UK. In particular, I focused on the environmental issues that caused oil spill. The sites portrayed the message of oil spills not just having a major impact on the environment but also the wildlife and the marine life.

In addition I am also exploring and using motion graphics throughout my project so that I can reach a broader audience. I will be incorporating the urban design poster and the motion graphic to not only attack audience offline but also online.

Colors, texture, semiotics and typography are key to my design ethos – each of these elements have a theoretic and positive influence in my design.

In my design process I have been applying multiple effects on the textures such as “multiply” and “color overlay”. This has been done to mix the texture in contrast with high toned colors. My idea is to communicate aggression as a sense of expression through my work.  Typography is used as the main source of communication. I have experimented a lot with typography working with the space around the text and its placement. Working with hierarchy to make certain words, letter or number to come out. Lastly the use of Colors has been a major part of my work.  I have been using primary color associations such as blue to represent sea, green to represent the environment, yellow to represent the light or new day (sun) and black to represent the oil spill.

This issue was something I felt very strongly about and it surprised me as to how few people knew about the oil spills and the impact of the oil spill including pollution and the detrition of our environment. When I started this project, I knew I couldn’t stop the oil spills but I wanted to use my designs to spark the brains of those that can change the way we see oil.

I want to highlight with my posters the dangers of corporate irresponsibility and the fact that Oil is not everything that matters. I want to convey my message of the oil impacting the environment and the life surrounding us! The above is only a reason as to my focus on the contemporary issue related to the ENVIRONMENT. But the bigger idea is to raise awareness about the past events in order to change the future.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Graphic Design.
