Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Karina Cometa

Many are ashamed to admit that such trivial concerns- to do with physical appearance bodies, faces, hair, and clothes- matter so much. I argue that we deserve the choice to do whatever we want with our faces and bodies without being punished by an ideology that is using attitudes, economic pressure and stereotypical judgments regarding women’s appearance to undermine us psychologically. For my final project, I am aiming to raise awareness to create a positive reflection that would spark dialogue between high school girls and our community on how young women judge themselves against the idealized beauty.

Kids Beauty Pageant

In our society today advertisement is constantly bombarding us with the ideas of the accepted beauty in our social norm. National Institute on Media and Family professional research results that the amount of time an adolescent watches soaps, movies and music videos is associated with their degree of body dissatisfaction and desire to be thin. Adolescences are in that transitional stages of human development generally occurring between puberty and legal adulthood which self- concept of body image place a crucial part.

My interest for this project grew more when I noticed young girls casual conversations complaining about their appearance during working on my part-time job. I began observing these shop talks because I think its the best way to understand them from their own categories of thought and social behaviors without influencing them on what my opinion is about this topic. Being able to capture initial conversations directly helped me to discover new opportunities defining decisive decisions for my potential design outputs for what my audience needs and wants.

Aesthetics Colour & Patten Inspiration inside retail shops

(Inspirational Artist) Mr. Bingo – Humorous Design 

(Inspirational Artist) Nikki Farquharson – Mixed Media

Amidst constructing this project, I have found that most other campaigns tackle this issue in a serious note. As I am dealing with a younger generation I have decided to give the content of my design a humorous theme. My project would capture and retain the message to my audience, as I believe that even such a serious matter can be enhanced by a touch of humor.



Postcard Pages bound in publication ( work in progress )

My design will embody the social comments that I have collected directly from young girls and would incorporate it to my chosen outputs, which are tags, tote bags, and postcards. My goal is to create a design that would trigger my audience to reflect and be inspired about this issue. To support the stated comments, I have come into a turning point to incorporate magazine cutouts to my illustrations to represent the idea of media hypperreality giving my audience a real insight on how media dictates what beauty should look like. I have used a handwriting type to add an expressive component to evoke a feeling of a tone of voice within the page. Experimenting with patterns and vibrant colours is also another important element to my visual heirachy as it would set a highly appealing and estatic mood throughout my design.

1st Design- Tote Bags Collection – Deconstruction Typo – Work in Progress

The intention for the distribution behind my project is another turning point decision that I have encountered. I have decided to occupy a space around retail shops as a way to reach and engage my message much effectively to my target audience.

Examples of charity/ foundation campaigns that are situated inside retail shops.

About williambardebes

Designer, lecturer, masters student, community coordinator for e-learning, father, sculptor, writer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
