Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Jodie Heron

We do not remember days, we remember moments. The richness of life lies in memories we have forgotten.

My project is an ‘anthropological diary’ surrounding my Dads life and his most memorable moments. My aim is to document my Dad’s story and use it as an inspiration to others who are trying to find true value and sustainability within their own life.

The name “Regenerate” is latin for “create again”. I felt this summed up my project perfectly: encouraging people to create again their memories. It also refers to our lives in general, how our memories are constantly being regenerated by nature, we are always creating new experiences which have little to huge impact on our everyday lives. Growth is a common theme throughout the publication, as by presenting the viewer with my fathers experiences, they are able to view the development of my father, and realise the significance it has had on him throughout his life.

My father, Robert Heron, was born in 1930, making him 82 years old today. People may make the assumption that having an older father is a disadvantage, yet I perceive it as a blessing. By having a father who has lived through such difficult times in history, it has not only given me a vision into the past, but it has made me appreciate the time and recollections that we have together. By sharing these stories, I hope to make people not only aware of history, but make them reflect on it, and understand what is truly significant and irreplaceable in their own life.

 First page you see when you open the book:

 Inspiration:

Memoire d’un Voyage en Oceanie: Edition 1, Object 1.

TURNINGPOINT1

-Finding my passion for Collage.

-Realising collage is an appropriate medium to represent memories + value through the use of layering and hierarchy.

Cutting Edges: Contempory Collage. This book has such an amazing collage artists in, and has been a huge influence for my studio practice. Got me thinking about what sort of collages am I going to create – what best represents Dad and his memories?!

Arnold Mario Dall’o:

 What aspect of Dads life am I going to focus on?

Finding Dads photographs around the house, & figuring out the houses he was living in when these photos were taken to help me place them at a space in time.

Figuring out how to combine various ideas/media. At the moment stuck with photographs of the old homes, collages that aren’t communicating and the most important aspect of all – Dads memories! Need to create a system to work with!

FIGURING OUT MY PROJECT:

My final outcome is going to be a publication, which will be a documentation of my Dad’s journey and the different homes that he has lived in. I made the design decision to use collage as my main medium as I felt it is a successful way to evoke a sense of nostalgia and explore an overlapping sense of memory and territory. The publication will have an aesthetic similar to one of a diary, to try and capture a ‘personal-feel’, to help build a connection between my Dad and the viewer. I am going to incorporate the use of laser-cutting and transparency, to highlight the way in which we remember our memories; how some memories are clearer than others, and how some have a greater impact. The way in which experiences shape and develop you as a person, is an idea I want to be clear to the viewer. I want my audience to read through this publication and not only see the beauty within my Dads life but for them to go home thinking about the decisions and choices they make on an everyday basis.

House Swatches from Dads previous homes.

Collecting items that represent growth from Dads homes that I can incorporate in my collages – how they are signifiers of the past, represent both the past and the future.

Using these photographs to determine the colours & textures to be used on each memory, retracing back to where the memories occured:

TURNINGPOINT2:

Changing my approach to collage by using my space & understanding symbolism, below is the same memory, but two totally different ways I have approached it!

Lucia Fischer:

“ Desolate, hazy and silent images that evoke a dreamlike nostalgia. They are scraps and discards, things I collect on my travels, old books, things I find out on the street, stuff other people would throw away, Things that need to get out from under my bed. The best treasures are those forgotten about and found again.”


TURNINGPOINT3:

Cracking the layout to represent the underlying ideas – ‘everything making sense’!

Completing pages for publication, trying to communicate memories better! Keeping in mind that everything means and symbolises something! This collage will be overlayed with the text (about the memory, and also the letter of the mailbox on transparent paper). I made the design decision to do this, as it reflects how when we see this mailbox, or go to these places, we don’t have connection to them due to not having an experience there. It also represents “gaining an insight”, revealing the interior state of mind of my dad – his memories – almost like seeing behind the stained glass window.. the text and image may mean nothing by themselves, but when they are overlayed they make sense – almost making the viewer piece together the puzzle, and whilst doing this, realising the importance of their own memories – the value of them,  how they last forever etc.

View: What the transparent page will look look layering the collage.



Anna Duthie Textiles: As I am taking print-making for my elective,  I am interested to see how I am able to cross the boundaires between collage and print-making. Printing over collages, rescanning and reworking, and then re-creating. Is this process relevant to the way memories operate? This constant never ending cycle of experiences?! Layering is a definitely an appropriate medium to show how experiences shape and layer us as individuals. Is there a possible way to re-layer his memories in terms of how he remembers them? What is more apparent would appear closer to the foreground..? *Need to brainstorm to expand these ideas further.

Coralie Bickford-Smith: Something that is really important to me whilst creating this publication is to capture the age and time that these events occurred in. I am interested in Smith’s modern-day take on simple old school books! I could easily see something simple like these working for “regenerate’. Use of pattern is relevant in terms of regenerating, and ‘creating again’. Could I explore patterns further.. use of repetition? Could I incorporate patterns throughout to help emphasize the idea of ‘regenerating’

After 7 weeks of figuring out the project and many metaphors I am finally at a point where all I have to is make it…

“There are many ways to define our fragile existence, many ways to give it meaning. But it is our memories that shape its purpose and give it context. The private assortment of images, fears, loves, regrets. And we alone choose the importance of each, building our own unique histories, one memory at a time, hoping the ones we choose to remember don’t betray or trap us. For it is the cruel irony of life that we are destined to hold the dark with the light, the good with the evil. This is what separates us, what makes us human. And in the end, what we must fight to hold on to.”

Ways of Mapping:

“Map As Art, The: Contemporary Artists Explore Cartography” By Katherine Harmon.

This publication has been a huge inspiration to me, and has opened my eyes to ‘what is a map’, and different ways in which we can map concepts and ideas. A map that captured my eye was ‘The Approach, 2006’ by Clodaph Emoe.

This map presents us with pages from a newspaper Emoe found on the street, and she then proceeded to burn the map of the milky way into these pages. “A crisis of disorientation’ is a common theme throughout her work, and this piece directly reflects this. Her work confronts the impossibilities of different media and techniques and how by breaking the boundaries of ordinary technique, she can create work that has depth and a greater meaning. This is something I want my own work to show – a greater meaning, i want people to not read over my publication, and read and understand my Dads journey, I want them to realise the importance of their own memories, the value that each experience holds. The lessons learnt, the way it has shaped us.

The use of burning is something I want to explore in my own work. Burning results in scars, and the relationship between scars and memories is clear and evident. How they both have an impact – scarring is visible, and although memories are not visible to the public, it doesn’t mean that they don’t impact us and ‘leave a mark’ much like scars do.

 

About jodieheron

I am passionate Graphic Designer who loves to research anything involving Illustration, Design, and Photograhy. Check out my website below: www.jodieheron.co.nz jodie-heron.tumblr.com

2 comments on “Jodie Heron

  1. Bev
    September 16, 2012

    Wow!! I have been amazed at how great this is and all the work you have done so far to get this awesome result. It will certainly be something for you to treasure in the years to come. Wonderful – Mum

  2. cindy heron
    September 28, 2012

    Beautiful, creative, passionate, intelligent, sensitive, and full of love for Dad.
    Well done Jodie.

    Cindy xxx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Graphic Design, Uncategorized.
