Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Fei (Fay) Liu


‘Blood Red Vanity’

My project is about creating a horror graphic novel called ‘Blood Red Vanity’.

My final framework is 50 pages of hand drawn graphic horror .

The novel will contain an intro and 2 short horror stories all created in black ink.


The key contextual directions I am exploring are what do face expressions reveal and how do we respond to other peoples facial expressions, what is horror, how is horror not always the same as horrific – and how to communicate visual impact with a limited palette.

In my research I was able to identify that the horror genre tends to be of greater interest to teenager and young adults rather than older people, so I am primarily focusing my story line and aesthetics on a target audience of 16 to 30 year old males and females.

I like to illustrate, so making a graphic novel seemed a very good way for me to express myself as a graphic designer. With this project I intend investigating how the graphic novel can used to explore fear. When people are confronted by things they fear they often suffer panic attacks and they have different kinds of extreme facial expressions  – I am interested in visually exploring these reactions to fear – using the human fear response as a resource for my drawings. I am interested in using the process of illustration to explore what fear might mean to those reading a graphic novel ie: Is it the same as fear responses to watching a movie – given there is no sound with a graphic novel so you are very reliant on the visuals building suspense.

I am also interested in ideas concerned with how illustration can be used to explore the uncanny, in order to allow people to see into a new world that they haven’t experienced or to experience horror through the eyes of another – in a surrealist juxtaposition ie: you don’t have to be actually experiencing the horror directly to
be scared.

The graphic novel format allows me to explore the elements of communication such as the relationship between strong visuals and minimal written content and how historically these comic format has used sound as words and typography to add exaggeration to text, these features are especially present in a horror graphic novel because of the need to build tension and to create climaxes.

The text image relationships in graphic novels represent powerful tools in the creation of the story. When people read my graphic novel, I want them to become the lead character, if the reader identifies with key characters then the book has more visual impact, making the story more believable and so gripping, for the reader.

About fayliufei

Fay Liu, I am a designer and illustrator that have been enjoying drawing my whole life as long as I can remember. I am in the last year of my graphic design study and I love horror graphic as well as album art.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
