Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Elina Shikhimova

For my final year project I’m going to investigate the how I can utilise publication design to explore Do-It-Yourself ‘DIY’ as a phenomenon in order to enable low-income students to engage in creative endeavours My final project is going to be a publications of 50 spreads that categories under different titles such as; Gardening, Backing, Indoors and Outdoors. All these projects will aim at feminine audience who enjoy creating crafts and getting involved with the craft community.  I will use photographic images to communicate the D.I.Y projects as we

 

ll as some verbal description, after all  we all know that ‘picture says a thousand words’.  I have chosen this method of communications because through my research I found out that the most common way people like to communicate their projects to the viewers is through visual approach such as photography.

Spreads of my D.I.Y projects. ‘Jars’ & ‘Flower Pots”

This been interesting topic to me because I  have always been surrounded by people who made many D.I.Y projects for craft purposes and for survival needs. My granddad would always make thing and fix things on his own because … well because HE CAN, and my friends and siblings would always create things because … well in was just so much FUN. So now making this D.I.Y publication is my way of sharing and engage with the environment in creative ways.

D.I.Y objects

My ‘In-door’ projects Lamp, Jars & PillowCases

My main influence towards my project are Jessica Hische, and Oliver Jeffers. I am exploring these two artist because I am interested in Typography and water colour techniques and apply them to my publications. Both these artist have the feminine touch in heir works, which will work well for my project. To them that I am Jessica Hische has made a lot of typeface that are very feminine and have a very hand made look to them. I want to create my own typeface that will be featured in my publication, while using and combining Oliver Jeffers illustrative and soft water coloured techniques to create a warm and creative feeling while still giving enough head space for your own creative thinking.

Oliver Jeffers-Water colour illustration

Jessica Hische- ‘Marrakech’ book cover, layout & typography

I have been interested in a lot of water colour techniques and patterns. I would like to explore more of this style and create my patterns that will appear in my publication to reflect my interest as a designer.

Water colour & textual patterns

Water colour & textual patternsFranke & Extra Curricular

I am interested in these crafty magazines as I use i would like to attract similar audience to my publication. These magazines are full of inspiration to help create my own publication as appealing and user friendly as these magazines.

I have developed my layouts since the first attempt, I have interpreted my patterns to give the layouts more of a ‘hand – made’ feel , however I would like to focus more on illustrations and typography as I also want to present my skills and interests through this publication and bring out my personality through them.

 

"Re-Make' Publication 2012

About williambardebes

Designer, lecturer, masters student, community coordinator for e-learning, father, sculptor, writer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Graphic Design.
