Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Eivan Bonita

My love for illustration started a long time ago… back when I was a tiny Filipino. It’s what keeps me happy, it’s what I’m good at and it’s what I’ll be doing for my final year project.

My aim is to re-illustrate a set of cautionary tales from a popular German children’s book, “Der Struwwelpeter”. My intention is to re-create this publication for it to become more suitable and appealing for modern day child audience between the ages of 8 to 12.

Struwwelpeter – by Dr. Heinrich Hoffman

My study began by analyzing the differences between historical styles and forms of illustration during the 1800s with the present in terms of stroke, colour, tone, shading and text. This involved gathering a wide range of storybook, comic, contemporary and digital artists who specialized mainly in illustration. My process was to identify strong qualities in their techniques, slightly mimic them and collaboration. Trying to step away from my my box, I was quite interested in the use of  perspective and silhouettes in my work and learned to use it’s effects on an overall image and while play with text I discovered a new love for calligraphy.

Studying body parts and movement

Mimicking my artist models – Jim Lee, Jan Op De Beeck, Dr. Suess

Experimenting with watercolor and calligraphy

Getting out of my comfort zone – Experimenting with color, shapes and collage

Going digital – Playing with silhouettes and character design

Planning my publication and draft final draft layout

Final draft spread of the ‘ Inky Boys ‘

As my project progressed I wanted to focus more on my aim and found myself deeply intrigued with children’s psychology. Struwwelpeter was generally made to ‘scare’ children out of their bad habits and proven how our younger generation are becoming more intelligent and exposed to more violence from games, television and  the internet I decide to turn the notch from ‘scare’ to ‘slightly traumatized’. My illustrations needed to become more realistic, dark and less child-like. Strangely enough, trying to step out of my illustrative style led me right back to it. My current research the moved to graphic novels, the use and effects of frames and creating storyboards. I also want to express more relation between text and image so I decided to focus strongly on character design, which is now a big part of my work.

The start of the turning point – Attention to detail

Returning to my previous realistic, detailed, comic book style

New storyboards and publication layouts

A preview of what’s to come…

My final outcome was slightly changed from being one massive publication into smaller publication of each story and by doing so I have been experimenting with page layouts and the overall structure of my publications.

About borgue01

Graphic Design Student, Musician

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
