Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Andrew Rae

As a designer, I have had fun dabbling in the different forms graphic design can take. As I have progressed through my years as a design student, I have discovered a passion for print-based material as a platform for my work. I use food to inspire my practice—if I’m not designing something related to food, it has somehow aided my process.

Being brought up in a small beachside town in New Zealand, I have taken my experiences in life and expressed them through my work. My final year at Unitec has helped me uncover key characteristics of my design practice. These include my love for clichéd Kiwiana iconography and a passion for evoking happy childhood memories through design, clearly shown through my work that I have created this year.

Over the first semester, I looked far and wide into the concept of food acting as a cultural identifier. Linking into this, I have found through my work as a designer that I am interested in design that is centered on clichéd sunny summer days, nostalgia, and the culture that surrounds these concepts. This is something that I wanted to drive the overall style in my studio project.

While looking at designers that could influence my practice, I came across Rosemary Milner. Her work is very diaristic, and when viewing it, you can create an understanding of a story.

“Keepsakes” by Frances Hansen influenced my work due to the unique and personal style of the book. Hansen used old family recipes that were passed down through generations in her work – something that all readers can relate to in some way. I found “Keepsakes” to be a informal, New Zealand flavoured cookbook, as it was filled with both handwritten and typed recipes, and was formatted in a collaged scrapbook style which added another personal element.

My work aims to educate and inform a wider audience about New Zealand food and culture, and to evoke feelings of warmth and nostalgia around past times. The main objective for my studio project is to communicate these ideas so that the viewer can understand, react and express emotions relating to the subject shown.

As I am using collage in my work, there is a need to build a strong library of images that represent my vernacular as well as tell a story. I used photographs taken in the 1970’s of children at the beach, people playing, eating food together, and overall, having a great time (as if they were rose-tinted, halcyon days). I have used other elements and textures in my work such as oil marks, remains of chips, and tomato sauce stains to emphasise this underlying theme in my work.

To assist with this project, I looked at advertising of iconic Kiwi foods and objects to see how they were represented. I noticed in iconic Kiwi food that there was a sense of nostalgia in each advertisement. From these findings, I was able to build a tonal range that could be used over my wallpaper design.

My outcome for this year’s work is a run of bespoke wallpaper. In the process of finding a surface for my wallpaper, my research suggested that the collaged aesthetic was too hectic to be background wallpaper for a domestic situation. The wallpaper I produced is more of an exhibition piece that will sit in a gallery setting and/or be a feature wall in a fish and chip eatery. In doing this, it can create conversation about memories of people’s summer-times at a young age, and show how the generation of today still relates their summers to the same clichés of many decades ago.


About Andrew Thomas Rae

Andrew Rae, small town kid making his mark in the big smoke. I am currently a 3rd year student studying Graphic Design at Unitec, Auckland and enjoying the challenges that have been created. I am an enthusiastic, Graphic Designer who loves print material and especially print material that is to do with food.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
