Graphic Design and Animation Graduates 2012

Online portfolio and print on demand catalogs for Graphic Design and Animation graduates from the Department of Design 2012. On this page you will find our conference presentations, and by hovering over the menu groups on the left you can read contextual documents. You are welcome to attend our Grad Show, opening on 29 November 2012 at 6pm, and daily from 30 November to 6 December 9.30am – 4pm.

Chetna Prasad


My final year project aims to help broaden the knowledge for tertiary students of the importance behind support surrounding the subject of depression. This project will inform the reader of ways to converse with someone who may be dealing with depression, ways of recognizing the illness, and mainly ways to provide support for those dealing with depression, especially if they are having to deal with this on their own. Through research conducted last semester I have gained a great knowledge of the subject I am designing around, and so felt that a publication and posters would be a suitable output for my final framework. I also came to this decision from the surveys I had sent around to people aged within my target audience, (18-22),  for the purpose of understanding what they found more effective as an output, and why. I also decided upon a publication as my main output because I want to design something which is size-efficient for the consumer, to create ease with places the publication can be stored or placed, which also influenced the decision of the sizing.

Contents Page

What is Depression?

How to tell

Vitamin D

Research

 

I would like the viewer to understand the contexts behind my work, as well as the ideas which manifest within the work I do. The ideas of support is brought forward from my poster work, (even though the style is minimalistic), through the use of illustration and overlay methods, as well as simple but effective typography. I feel there is good text and image relationship in my posters which all add to the idea of support, the hands ‘holding onto Hope’, making this a supportive activity and showing that others can help a person hold onto Hope when dealing with depression. I also have a very back and forth process in terms of research and analysis which has currently developed to iterative explorations in my studio work. The constant iterative development of work assists me in solving the problems seen in the previous work.

Hope

Jason Munn

This project began with the importance of raising more awareness about depression because I felt that people were not being informed about this illness as much as they could have, thus leading me to doing some user centered design research that required me to talk to a family member, who has been suffering from depression for the past year, which I was oblivious to. This broadened my knowledge and introduced me to a new aspect of depression: the importance of supportThis project now holds that of a personal importance to me as I now feel that I have this opportunity to be able to help other people who hold the knowledge that I once did about this subject, and to be able to help broaden their knowledge of depression, and to truly understand the importance of supporting someone through this illness. I am now in the process of passing the knowledge on that I have gained through research, and visually displaying this into a publication to communicate to my audience, so that the reader can really understand what support can mean to someone dealing with depression.

There is a way through, 2011

Support Cards, 2011

Support is EVERYTHING, 2011

Hardening up, 2011

Comparison, Turning Point

I have also chosen yellow to be a recurring colour/theme throughout my work as last semester  I did research in colour psychology and learned that yellow is an attention grabber, it means happiness, energy and it is a good colour to highlight aspects of a design. Yellow is an important colour, I use it to create attention in my work and have slowly started to use it in my publication as an element to create unity within my work.

Colour Palette

Exploration

 

About Chetna Prasad

Hi! My name's Chetna and I am currently in the process of completing my Bachelor in Graphic Design and Animation. Really excited! My passions lie within illustrations and handwritten typography which I am trying to explore more with personal work.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2012 by in Graphic Design.
